FearlessRiOT Forecast: WWE Extreme Rules 2016

Seen It!: The Show. I totally almost used that as the title for this Forecast because most of this card is coated in a sense to déjà vu. That’s nothing new; rivalries often extended to many PPVs across several calendar months. The question is whether or not any of these repeat occurrences are actually worth watching or caring about. I try not to write stuff off ahead of time, but even I have my limits, and at least a couple of these matches don’t really hold my attention. In fact, I’m gonna start with both of them just to get them out of the way. Luckily, the rest of the show looks like it may be decent enough to balance out watching the Billboard Music Awards with. And the Billboard Awards (which I’m not forecasting because the winners are literally determined by chart success and statistics rather than by an unseen academy of professionals or online fan-votes) totally has a great lineup this year; we get to see the very-much missed Kesha return to the stage and everything. But in WWE, it’s the one night a year where everything is supposed to be extreme; I say “supposed to” because I know I’m not the only one who notices that not every match on this show even has an extreme stipulation attached to it. While I wait for WWE to provide some kind of explanation for this, let’s predict the winners to the 2016 edition of the PPV that was originally created to pay homage to ECW and spawn a million more unnecessary and increasingly forced nostalgia-trip reunions ever since! It’s Extreme Rules (formerly One Night Stand)!

No Disqualification Match
Dolph Ziggler vs. Baron Corbin20160516_match_ER_1920x1080_Kickoff--6ea13408c0de99eb3495614485b35a98
Dolph Ziggler is once again here to show the world (or at least anyone who takes the time to watch the Extreme Rules Kick-Off show) that even though he’s had a few missteps as of late (and by as of late, I mean throughout his entire damn career, but more specifically the last couple) he hasn’t lost his uncanny ability to steal the show and put on an exciting match. But like last month, his opponent is the lumbering log of humdrum confidence from NXT, Baron Corbin. I never for a second thought WWE cared much for this feud, and my suspicions seemed to not be so far-fetched when their last PPV Kick-Off match ended in a roll-up and their next match didn’t up the ante on interest. So it’s with great pride that I announce….
Who I Want to Win: I don’t really care much, but if I had to choose, then Baron Corbin. He’s new and could use the momentum, as compered to Ziggler who I think has already peaked.
Who Will Win: Baron Corbin; Ziggler’s not getting lucky two Kickoffs in a row.

Tornado Tag Team Match
The Usos vs. The Club20160513_match_ER_1920x1080_UsosGallow--80a02e4f15942e62e53d7cf185cd6b8d
All that hype for the arrival of two of AJ Styles’ Bullet Club buddies and it turned out to be an absolute bust. They arrived looking like a Straight Edge Society sequel, straight out of the wrestling equivalent of the Wu-Tang Clan, the very popular Bullet Club. But they’ve been booked more like the Nexus with how often they’re vanquished by Superman. Only this time, Superman has backup in the form of his cousins, SuperUso #1 and SuperUso #2, who have beaten The Club on more than one occasion. But this time, there’s an added stipulation allowing everyone to be in the ring at once with no need for a tag. Will that match this match better? I don’t know, but I’m hoping to get some kind of chaos out of this. (Side Note: I’m not the only one who isn’t that mad at WWE referring to Gallows & Anderson as “The Club”, right? Sorry to break it to you, but sometimes copyright can be a pain.)
Who I Want to Win: The Club, just because if they lose to the Usos again, I will find it VERY hard to take these guys seriously.
Who Will Win: The Usos, because I doubt WWE wants me to take these guys as seriously as the say.

WWE Tag Team Championship
The New Day vs. The Vaudevillains20160501_match_ER_1920x1080_TagTeam--af79fc0b1e61c5db33bd8b88accaa9be
First of all, get well soon, Enzo Amore; after that scary injury from Payback, we hope to see the Certified G back on our screens soon. Until then, we have his unteachably tall tag team partner Big Cass going it alone, leaving the Vaudevillains to be next in line for the Tag Team Championship. The Vaudevillains have never been my favorite tag team; I did like when they beat Blake and Murphy for the NXT Tag Titles with help from one of wrestling’s biggest geeks, but other than that, there’s no gray area about my feelings on these two. OK, I did like when Aiden English used to sing his entrance; that was fun. But teaming with admittedly good wrestler Simon Gotch, they’re just not my cup of tea. The New Day, on the other hand, are still an awesome team, as well as the team to beat given how long they’ve held the penny belts.
Who I Want to Win: The New Day; again, I’m not here for English and Gotch getting the titles. But…
Who Will Win: The Vaudevillains, because what other relevant and available teams are left for New Day to beat? We’re fresh out; I see them switching things up on Sunday.

WWE United States Championship
Rusev vs. Kalisto20160502_match_ER_1920x1080_KalRus--ce69cb4593b6488145e82be02d0333d8
Of all the members of the League of Nations that could have possibly got a shot at the title named after this possibly-doomed nation, I’m glad it was Rusev. With King Barrett gone and the other two getting about as relevant as they are interesting (though Sheamus could bounce back after his TMNT2 appearance is unleashed onto cinemas), the Bulgarian Brute is the next challenge for Kalisto. He had a decent run with the title before he and Lana got booked in that awful romance angle, and maybe a title win is what Rusev needs for the people to see him as a big deal again. But don’t count our little Kalisto, who just won a feud with self-proclaimed “Big Guy” and possibly soon-to-be free agent Ryback. He knows how to toppled giants.
Who I Want to Win: Rusev; I like Kalisto, but his reign hasn’t felt special and I could use a switch-up.
Who Will Win: Kalisto; I see him winning this round and keeping the feud going.

Fatal 4-Way for the WWE Intercontinental Championship
The Miz vs. Kevin Owens vs. Sami Zayn vs. Cesaro20160502_match_ER_1920x1080_4Way--8bce1d836c34a5689e7474aba52b750e
Talk about a match where it’s hard to pick a favorite. Sure, The Miz isn’t Mr. Popularity, but he has a lot going for him: the championship, the exquisitely beautiful wife, the charisma, and in his own mind, the immeasurable fame. Cesaro, on the other hand, is as popular as they come; part of it is the fact that he looks suave in a suit, but it’s also that the guy is a total beast in the ring. But both of these men find themselves thrown into the pool with two other fighters who used to stand side by side but have been out for each other’s blood for well over a year. As much as Kevin Owens wants the Intercontinental Championship, chances are he wants Sami Zayn out of his life just as much. Will the emotions of either men cost them this match and cause the Swiss Superman or the A-Lister to snatch the win?
Who I Want to Win: Cesaro or Sami Zayn because neither man has won it yet.
Who Will Win: The Miz; the A-Lister is gonna get lucky both on the show and after it!

Submission Match for the WWE Women’s Championship
Charlotte vs. Natalya20160502_match_ER_1920x1080_CharlotteNattie--3fe57ee878e79f56fc78ecf08b8a4298
I hope this one doesn’t end like their last bout. Natalya and Charlotte have faced off numerous times over the years, but their last battle ended under such messed-up circumstances, I felt sorry for the clearly disinterested Bret Hart that he had to get up, get dressed, and take part in it. If I was him, I would’ve just stayed home and watched the Radio Disney Awards or something instead of showing up to brush off another tired Screwjob rehash. And this time, a submission is the only way to secure a victory: a REAL submission that the referee actually saw with his own eyes. This match was so important, it got a RAW-closing contract signing that saw Charlotte and Ric Flair turn into a Nickelodeon sitcom real quick. Really, Ric’s freakout and Charlotte’s reaction would fit in well on an episode of iCarly.
Who I Want to Win: Natalya; I’m ready for Charlotte’s reign to end and Nattie to get another one.
Who Will Win: Charlotte; I hear they want her to hold the title until SummerSlam, so I better strap in.

Asylum Match
Dean Ambrose vs. Chris Jericho20160509_match_ER_1920x1080_DeanJericho--c0131b5462a0467d5bc29edece90bf5e
If there’s anything I’ve learned about Internet wrestling fans, it’s that their capacity to suspend disbelief or accept any kind of silliness in pro wrestling is kind of limited. Take this feud for example, where I’ve heard complaints that it’s kind of ridiculous for two grown men to fight over the destruction of inanimate objects likes houseplant and a light-up jacket. Being the fun-loving guy I am, I’m willing to play along; I still want Jericho’s head for what he did to poor Mitch. But most fans aren’t having it and therefore find it harder to enjoy the feud. I say that not all feuds are going to be serious melodrama, so I’ll take what I can get. Besides, how could you be down at the thought of the Lethal Lockdown Match coming to WWE in one-on-one format under it’s new Vince-ified (well, Ambrose-ified) name, the Asylum Match? (Not to be confused with another looked-good-one-paper-but-turned-out-to-be-bad TNA idea with a similar title.)
Who I Want to Win: Dean Ambrose; it’s his match and he’s the one with a future in the business.
Who Will Win: Chris Jericho, just because Ambrose won their last match.

Extreme Rules Match for the WWE World Heavyweight Championship
Roman Reigns vs. AJ Styles201604129_match_ER_1920x1080_romanstyles_CAGE--d70a65e7262a817e70a44240d47f44b6
From what I’ve seen on social media, this feud has actually gotten a more positive response than I was expecting. I thought people would be up in arms at the potential burial of AJ Styles at the hands of McMahon’s chosen one. But fans really seem to be enjoying this feud for the most part, with the only complaints I’ve come across being strictly on the booking of AJ Styles’ Club-mates Anderson and Gallows. And I won’t argue with people when it comes to that because these two formerly intimidating bald guys have been written as total chumps who The Usos could beat in their sleep. Aside from that, this has been a fascinating feud between the little nice guy and the entitled champion and I’m glad I’m not the only one who’s been enjoying it.
Who I Want to Win: AJ Styles; he’s been an NWA Champion, TNA Champion, and IWGP Champion, but I’d love to see him win that elusive WWE Championship.
Who Will Win: Roman Reigns; we all know his time at the top of the mountain isn’t ending this soon.

Do you agree with the forecast? Who do you see winning at Extreme Rules? Who are you rooting for to win? Tag me on Twitter @FearlessRiOT and let me know or leave a comment below. Then check out Extreme Rules on the WWE Network tonight to see which predictions come true. Hope you all enjoy the show!

Leave a Reply

